Posted in Living with ME

Fake News Story

“If it isn’t Pinocchio. Tripped over your nose recently?”

This is the beginning of a conversation I had with a family member today, a conversation held after my husband was told by someone “I hear Marie is doing much better on her new treatment.”

A statement which left him asking “What the?”

Turns out, while I was busy feasting my eyes on varying newspapers in the aftermath of the recent US elections and reflecting upon the supposed hand social media played in its outcome, devouring all analytical analysis of fake news stories, from their inception to their growth, a fake story was circulating about me.

One in which I’d met a new treatment for ME/CFS, a treatment which had essentially cured me. And to think while I was sitting with a pounding headache all day Monday and resorting to my arm support bandage on Wednesday and suffering a bad night on Thursday, a clone of mine was living her life healed, bettered, free of ME.

Oh to wish.

The lesson of this story?

ME doesn’t just affect the inflicted patient, a patient who ultimately has to digest their diagnosis, accept it, live with it. ME impacts entire families. Families who are left struggling to cope with the diagnosis of their loved one, families who use denial as a means of coping and sometimes down right lies. Coping it turns out, has many formats.

As I pointed out to my Pinocchio, words have their consequences and as such, I’m writing this post to warn readers:

FAKE STORY ALERT- PLEASE IGNORE

*** To anyone wishing to avail of fact based information relating to ME/CFS, you can do so here at the Irish ME/CFS Association and here at the Irish ME Trust***

 

